Solving environmental problems should be the responsibility of international organisations rather than individual national government. Do you agree or disagree.

It is believed that international organizations should take all the responsibilities of addressing environmental problems with no need for the contribution from individual governments. However, I think that this statement does not apply to all cases. To begin with, environmental hazards that can cause damaging effects globally should be solved by both international institutions and each country's government. In order to eliminate pollution, every individual and company should adopt environmentally-friendly behaviours and be regulated by standardized laws. Legislating and implementing such guidelines are widely thought to be the responsibility of international organizations, which can ensure that such regulations are practical and suitable for most countries. However, supervising every citizen's and industry's specific behaviours and imposing punishments are beyond the scope of international organizations, thus requesting the contribution from every government. Furthermore, for an environmental problem that only affects one country, it is not worth international institutions' dedication. The main reason is that their resources are limited and there are a variety of serious global issues requiring their attention. Therefore, their priority should be given to issues that cause the most devastating impacts and affect a staggering number of people. Additionally, local authorities are equipped with more information and tactics to tackle environmental crises domestically since they have more insights about local geographical features, cultures and climates so that they can investigate the root causes of a problem more thoroughly. As discussed above, since international institutions do not have sufficient resources and enough abilities to cope with all problems worldwide, they should only focus on enacting general rules and dealing with globalized issues. On the other hand, local authorities should put enough effort into supervising their citizens and addressing domestic environmental threats.