Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

Foreign movies such as Hollywood big IPs have achieved greater success than local independent films in terms of popularity. Several of the reasons could lead to this consequence which government should take responsibility for. Both factors and ways of saving local film industries will be discussed in the following essay. The thriving of foreign movies primarily resulted from two reasons. First, due to the big-budget for luxury casts and magnificent sceneries, big-budget foreign movies were usually cast by famous actors and actresses, and the beautiful CGI are attractive to the audiences, so it could easily win global box office. Second, the business of Hollywood movies has been operating for over 50 years, which means thousands of experienced professionals keep devoting themselves to this industry, they know how to cater to the audience by applying fantastic special effects and brilliant ideas. On contrary, independent filmmakers might suffer from a shortage of budget, and lack of experience in work, it is hard to achieve commercial success. Government should take action to help local film industries by subsidizing the film industry. On one hand, setting up foundations and providing financial support to talented industry professionals who participate in independent filmmaking. Moreover, the government should help local filmmaking to reduce expenses in facility and equipment rentals and taxes. At last, promoting the domestic film to the public should be accounted as regular work for the government. To sum up, despite the fact that Hollywood blockbusters are currently dominating the market, we should still expect prosperity in independent film industries if with the help from governments.