Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, contamination of rivers, lakes and seas has become one of the most urgent issues for people who are interested to preserve the environment. In this essay, I will examine why waste management and public unawareness are the causes of water pollution and list some of the effects that endanger animals and human beings. While the issue of water contamination is in the limelight for several years, governments and people failed to address the problem effectively. Indeed, it can clearly be seen that a significant number of world citizens have bad waste management habits. For example, almost everyone has seen empty bottles in rivers or lakes at least once. This throw-away mentality drives people to contaminate water reservoirs since some representatives of our kind are too lazy to pick up the slack and care about nature. If we only showed more willingness in protecting the environment, the level of water contamination would be lesser. If you were asked what is the percentage of water pollution in your home country, what would you respond? The answer to this question could be very tricky as far as most people simply do not have knowledge about it. Indeed, current trends show the tendency to talk about climate change, however, the majority of us do not pay attention to that. Greta Tunberg, for instance, is the person who is calling for urgent actions but she herself does not seem to be properly educated in the field. Rather than shouting and promoting strange ideas, it would be far more useful to provide people with examples of what everybody could do to save the environment. These two causes of water pollution directly affect animals and people. A considerable amount of marine life is reported to be endangered due to the increasing level of contamination, whereas people are likely to suffer from certain diseases. In conclusion, the problem of water pollution would not be solved in the years to come. However, it is in the common interest to ensure that the next generations of animal species and the human race would enjoy safer lives.