More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why? Who benefits more from this, the community or these young people?

There is a controversial notion heating a debate over the fact that numerous youngsters in developed nations are contributing their time to communities in under-developed ones by doing work without payment such as teaching or erecting accommodations. This essay is devoted to analyzing the underlying roots of this situation and showing whether society or young people benefited more from this. To begin with, there is a wealth of culprits for the involvement of young people in rich countries doing volunteer work in those poorer. Because in many parts of the world, people have to live in bad conditions which they do not have enough ability to redress. Hence, young volunteers from developed countries usually spend their time in these nations in order to help unfortunate people get through their hardships in life. Take the United Nations as a convincing example, this organisation has sent hundreds of young volunteers to Nigeria annually with a view to eradicating poverty in this country by providing food and medical supplies, building homes and schools without gaining any expenses. Therefore, the main reason for the contribution of youngsters in wealthy nations to underprivileged ones is their desire to support others. By doing so, both the societies and these adolescents can have tremendous benefits. In terms of the communities receiving assistance, they can address their severe issues so that people living in these countries will have better living conditions. Regarding young people, through this work, they can gain more experiences which can be added to the CV of their future occupations. Furthermore, their social circle can also be extended since they can meet more people who have the same common interests while doing volunteer work. Consequently, it is undeniable that not only the communities but also the youngsters can gain valuable advantages through charities. In conclusion, the aspiration to assist others has been the main contributor to the fact that many adolescents in developed countries are willing to volunteer in those deprived and from this action both communities and youngsters can be benefited.