Recycling is now an essential measure: it is time for everyone in society to become more responsible towards the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays the amount of garbage has reached cosmic proportions and threatens the existence of the Earth. I totally agree with the sentence that it is time for humanity to become more responsible towards the environment and I will try to prove it in this essay. Through the centuries, the history of human civilization was always related to processing natural resources and producing goods and services. Some archaeological finds suggested that in the bronze age humans were forced to cut off most forests in Asia Minor and Near East in order to derive charcoal and to smelt the tools and arms from the ore. Nowadays, it is commonly believed that we all are living in a civilization based on oil processing. And as it widely known, the backside of the oil processing is plastic producing. Thanks to this magnificent material it has been possible to create a global market oversaturated with consumer goods. Because of the cheap plastic and cheap petroleum products human well-being has never been so high as it can be seen now. On the other hand, the side effect of this process became the production of huge garbage amounts. While scientific and technical progress is taking place, more and more rubbish is been being produced by humanity. Due to this situation we have already faced dangerous climate changes, disappearing some biological species, deforestation and depletion of raw materials. Moreover, some people believe that most of the plastic garbage is not buried in a landfill but is just thrown on land and then ends up in rivers and oceans. Thanks to it the most conspicuous ocean rubbish congestion named the Great Pacific garbage patch can be seen by the eye in space. In conclusion, although the scientific-technical progress and processing of raw materials let humanity achieve prosperity that has never been so high, now we are faced with the challenge of recycling that needs to be fulfilled in the near future, otherwise the society will have to pay too much price for the progress.