In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing, does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

These days, in most of the countries the ratio of elderly people is large as compared to the youth. While the long life period will benefit the individuals, I believe this will have negative consequences on the whole society in the long run. One of the main problems associated with the ageing population is that the cost of healthcare will increase and therefore it will impose a burden on taxpayers. It is widely known that the requirement of medical needs and costs occur in the later years of life. This means the government will have to allocate more funds for the development of hospitals, medical facilities, institutions and trained medical staff. As a result, working people will have to contribute more to taxes to support the legal authorities so that other essential areas like education does not remain unfunded. Another issue with the growth of older humans is low productivity. Since the proportion of senior people is high, the industries will lack labour force and this in turn will have an adverse effect on economic growth. In addition, if the people at the retirement age choose to continue with their work, they will be unable to absorb information and complete the work on time because of their low pace., Moreover their conservative attitude towards the use of technology will not let the company grow. In conclusion, the considerable increase in life expectancy has put a strain on healthcare and made the workplace less productive.