In many countries today, people in big cities prefer to live alone or in small family units rather than larger, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, with urbanization speeding up across the globe, more and more citizens tend to choose to live alone or build a small family living in the traditional extended family. However, there is some uncertainty as to whether it is a good trend. In this essay, I will review both sides of the issue to seek a conclusion. To begin with, there is no doubt that living alone means leading a simple life, which helps diminish the unnecessary distractions from the extended family such as preparing never-ending festivals, cooking,sometimes debating when having different opinions. Moreover, Some can make use of their time to improve personal skills and to learn how to live independently, instead of always asking for help from relatives when coming across troubles, therefore fostering an independent mindset which proves to be incredibly crucial for individual development. Furthermore, this small group lifestyle can be beneficial to protecting people’s privacy, especially the youngsters, who are becoming increasingly privacy-conscious, living alone can better meet their demands. On the other hand, however, living in an extended family serves to build emotional bonds with loved ones, everyone in the same family can support each other by means of encouraging and financially, In addition, those who grow up in a larger family seems to be more open-minded and easy to accept different viewpoints. Moreover, it is an economical way to live with many family members, since domestic expenditure such as electricity and heating can be shared with each one, alleviating the burden of living costs. To summarize, there is no deniable that independent lifestyles make life more comfortable and flexible, on the other hand, living with many family members can gain good relationships and more economically. In the final analysis, one can only conclude that the way of living alone which fit our fast-paced environment, has more advantages than living with a larger family, so long as they could put emphasis on maintaining unity among the generation.