increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution. to what extent do you agree and disagree?

It is no debate that the rapid increase in traffic jams and pollution are some of the major problems in the world today. I concur with the notion that raising the cost of petrol would help solve this problem and this essay would explain why by citing practical examples. A good number of vehicles on the road today usage petrol as their source of energy. In recent times,there has been a tremendous rise in car ownership mostly for convenience and privacy. This also means that the roads have become busier, hence the heavy traffic and air pollution. For example, a recent study carried out by the University of Maryland found out that in the last 3 decades, the usage of private vehicles has rapidly increased to 70 per cent compared to public transport. Increasing the cost of petrol would serve as a deterrent for driving vehicles as not a lot of people would be able to afford it, thus abandoning privately owned cars and using more public transports as a means of getting around consequently,decongesting the roads and reducing air pollution. In conclusion, the growing number in the usage of cars has led to heavy traffic jams, while there might be other ways to resolve this problem, raising the cost of fuel seems to be the best solution.