Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the internet rather than teachers in classrooms. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the advent of the internet enables students to obtain academic qualifications through distance education. I believe the benefits of this trend far outweigh the potential drawbacks. On the one hand, there are two main drawbacks of E-learning. One problem is that students will miss out social experience that school offers. Because there's no classroom and therefore no ability to work on group projects or even converse with fellow students in a face-to-face environment, it's difficult to build relationships of any kind. Not only that, but it's very easy to start to feel isolated from your peers and others because you're working on assignments and all school-related activities entirely alone. Another potential drawback is that students may struggle with focusing on the screen for long periods of time, distracted by social media or other websites. They need to keep themselves motivated and focused if they want to complete their distance learning course successfully. Distance education is not a good idea if you tend to procrastinate and can't stick to deadlines. Despite those arguments mentioned above, I would agree that both educators and students can benefit more from distance education. Firstly, it allows students to attend classes from any location and any time of their choice. This benefit encourages educators to shift to distance learning after the coronavirus outbreak since e-learning allows students to continue participating in classes without being physically present. Also, schools can reach out to a more extensive network of students, instead of being restricted by personal schedules,geographical boundaries, and limited budgets. Furthermore, it eliminates the commute and hassle of getting to class. For those students who are physically unwell or disabled, there is no need to worry about missing any courses or spending too much time commuting to school as e-learning allows them to catch up wherever they are. Secondly, distance education helps students to develop time management and technical skills, such as online search, word processing, and video conferencing. Compared to more monitored traditional classes,where all students are expected to do the same work at the same times on the same days, there are no rigid schedules with online learning beyond assignment due dates, so students have a greater say in how they complete their schoolwork.These skills can open the door to better job opportunities. In conclusion, I think completing college courses through distance learning has a lot to offer to students in terms of its flexibility, as long as they are willing to interact more frequently and keep disciplined and motivated.