Some students tend to travel after finishing school and spend time working somewhere instead of going to the university directly. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? (May 2021) Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the modern era there are many students who want to take gap in their education after their high school and pursue work in a new geography. As the coin has both the faces, this situation also has pros and cons. The benefit of discontinuing one’s academic career and pursing a job would be that they can experience different culture and understand the hardships of life. Surviving on their own income gives an individual, independence and they will become strong as they are stepping out of their comfort zone. The drawback of taking sometime before going to pursue further education is that they would settle in an older age than usual. As a chain reaction, everything in their life would be delayed due to amount of time they have taken to explore and work. To put the case in point, I am acquainted with a person, who discontinued his education to explore the world and know new culture while working as a handy man. This experience has brought a great impact in his life and during his further education. He is now one of the successful businessmen in the Southern part of India. Another scenario where a person discontinued from his education to explore but the outcome was devastating. Due to the time he has taken to take a gap in his education turned out to be the worst decision, due to the financial problems his family has faced. In conclusion, it varies from individual to individual. One has to consider all the parameters before taking such important decisions of life.