Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this ? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy.

In recent times, there has been an increase in the usage of solar energy in different countries. This essay would explain the reason for this and also the benefits and drawbacks of using solar power. So many countries are turning to solar power as their main source of energy. One main reason behind this is cost-effectiveness. For instance, in Africa where the temperature can rise up to 45 degrees, all that is needed for energy supply is the sunlight and a portal for connection, consequently saving huge amounts of money that would have been spent on energy conversion. Climate change is becoming more and more a reason to worry nowadays. An important benefit of solar power is that it is climate-friendly because using this type of natural energy as a source of power eliminates the need to carry out the hazardous processes involved in producing other sources of power. As a result air pollution is reduced and our planet can be saved eventually. For example, when I visited Rivers State, a city in Nigerian, I noticed that people living in that area mainly died from respiratory-related diseases. On further enquiry, it was revealed that a fuel and diesel producing plant was located in that area. These unnecessary deaths could be avoided if they adopted the use of solar energy instead. While solar energy is highly beneficial, it's is not readily available especially in places with very cold climates. In conclusion, solar energy has become very useful in today's world.