With the pressures on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's modern world selecting education subjects for pupils is a major challenge not only to parents but also to School administration. A few individuals are of the impression that owing to a huge burden on children, periods of extra-curricular activities, art and recreation sports should not be allowed instead focus on academic subjects only. I disagree with the viewpoint and in the next forthcoming paragraphs, I shall elucidate with logical reasoning/rationale why students are allowed for recreational activities. To embark on, Firstly, young people have nowadays concentrated themselves to homes and its surrounding and occasionally play physical games instead set priority to watch the television and play the computer games owing to its addiction. Consequently, they lack physical fitness along with mental abilities and their performance and productivity are lower not only in school studies as well as in other aspects of daily life. Therefore, parents and teachers should encourage children to participate in recreational activities and hence develop their cognitive abilities, which will lead the overall development. To epitomize, children who participate and play games and create art and crafts are more creative and has high analytical skills, which they carry in further for higher studies hence are successful not only in academics but also in challenging career prospects. secondly, presently parents are very busy in their work and often lack the quality time to spend with their children along with providing guidance, also know their obstacles and weakness, subsequently, children are hopeless and divert their energy and intelligence to illegal activities, such as consuming drugs and stealing valuables, which are incompatible to their status. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the parents as well as children to keep them engaged with sports activities and avoid them moving to the wrong path. Therefore, I conclude that despite the huge burden on students to excel academically but sport and art are equally important to keep their mind and body fit and healthy and also engage them in school as well not allow them in illegal activities