One problem faced by almost every large city if traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Traffic jams are one of the major issues being confronted by almost all the urban areas over the globe. The key reasons for this are the rampantly increasing number of private cars and narrow roads. These can be effectively remedied by encouraging more and more people to use public transport by improving its declining state and developing plans for the betterment of infrastructure and wider roads. The primary cause contributing to traffic congestion is the incredibly rising number of personal cars on roads. The majority of the families prefer to use them for travel instead of public transportation, the condition of which is getting abysmal day by day, thereby causing tremendous inconvenience to the travellers. According to a recent survey by the Department of traffic and transportation, a great majority of the population prioritises cars over public buses owing to the fact that cars are far more feasible. Furthermore, the narrow roads add to the problem. The parking on both sides of main roads has extended to such an extent that they obstruct almost the entire way of automobiles. Thus, the major reasons for crowding on roads is the escalating number of cars and limited space to drive on highways. A solution that is proving effective is to improve the quality of public transport. Consequently, this will promote people to use it and deter the usage of personal cars by them. To illustrate, the local train services in London are so convenient and spacious, that despite having private cars, people resort to using them for short and long distances, thereby causing little or no traffic jams on roads. Additionally, plans should be devised by higher authorities to widen the roads. Consequently, the vehicles will get more room to pass through, leading to a decrease in traffic congestion. Hence, if the condition or public transportation is made better and the roads widened, the incidence of traffic jams will greatly diminish. In conclusion, the major problem of traffic congestion in urban areas caused by the excessive usage of private cars and congested roads can effectively be mitigated by the rehabilitation of public buses and trains and the widening of highways.