A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed.

Most of the population is dependent on tourism in one way or the other as it is their primary source of income. This essay will demonstrate how tourism is essential in the life of local people as well as to promote the nation’s economy and it will also show how tourism can lead to some problems like displacement of local people. Whilst acknowledging the drawbacks, the essay will argue that the disadvantages of the tourist industry outweigh the advantages. Tourism has uplifted the local and nation’s economies to a great level. It has created job opportunities for the residents of that place and people are becoming entrepreneurs by starting small businesses. The standard of living of the local people has highly increased. Furthermore, there is a magnificent improvement in the infrastructure of the tourist places and facilities which benefit the whole community. One of the countries that have experienced a significant economic boost from tourism is Thailand. Over the past few decades, people living their struggles to make a living, which is now developed into thriving holiday destinations. It has also helped in maintaining the culture and traditions of that particular tourist place. The influx of tourists has also generated a lot of problems lately. There are various factors affecting the people due to the tourism industry. Firstly, due to overcrowding of people, there has been water shortage in places like Shimla and Manali as the water level has plummeted gradually. Secondly, inflation is seen in the market when the foreign tourists are overvalued for many goods and they are ready to pay for that gladly as the price is relatively cheaper than the same goods available in their countries. The third most crucial disadvantage is the displacement of local people and a loss of authenticity of traditional arts and culture that has been found because of the modification of the historical places just to please and meet the demands of the tourists. In conclusion, although tourism improves the lives of most of the people as well as significantly contributes to the national economy, however the mass tourism can sometimes result in local residents having to be relocated, most of the money is consumed by wealthy people of that place and there is huge destruction of the environment. Hence, the drawbacks of tourism definitely outweigh the positive effects of the tourism industry.