In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Recently, companies are more likely to emphasise the new modification of their products in their advertising. In my opinion, there are two main reasons for this and I believe it is a beneficial development. Businesses are trying to show the changes of their products for two primary reasons. On the one hand, people all have innate curiosity for trying something new since they were born, and the new change in the products may seem appealing to them. For example, most of the domestic facilities now have a long lifetime, and people are unlikely to purchase a new one until they are broken. In order to persuade people to buy a new product, companies have to design something new to attract their attention. On the other hand, it is also a way to make people consider the new products deserve the price. If the products do not change in any aspect, individuals may reckon that buying it as a waste of money. In my view, I consider it to be a positive trend because this could be a motivator for innovation. The trend of pursuing something new is regarded as the source of some technological development. For example, companies have to try and make some changes in their products in order to cater for their customers' preference, and after thousands of times of trying, they may achieve a new well-improved product which is much better than the current one, while if people do not have the desire for a new thing, it is unlikely for scientists or designers to make further progress. In conclusion, there are two reasons for the preference of businesses that they are likely to put their emphasis on the changes of their products, and personally, I believe it is a positive development.