Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

At present, open office designs are being used more than closed-door office spaces. The two types of office spaces are great depending on the staff using it. However, this essay agrees with the notion that the advantages of non-restrictive office space designs outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, open office enhances collaboration between staff. In an open office, colleagues can easily walk up to each other to talk or ask questions; however, in a closed-door office, this is rarely the case. For instance, in an open-space design office, you don't need to knock, wait, or receive a response before approaching the staff you want to talk to. This ultimately fosters a close working relationship among the staff. Also, with an open space office, you have more space to accommodate other staff. In a closed-door office, the maximum number of people in the room could be 3. However, the same room, when opened could take up to double the size. For example, my office used to be a closed office, however, a redesign was done and now we have an open office. We realised that before we could accommodate 10 workers, but after the redesign, we were able to accommodate 5 additional people into the office. This has helped to create more room and reduce the cost of renting an additional workplaces. In conclusion, closed office designs are being turned to open-style designs nowadays. This essay agrees that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages as pointed out, because it promotes collaboration between the people, while also helping the company to reduce cost of office, by accomodating more people in the present open workplace.