Many feel that happiness is mainly an individual responsibility while others feel that there are important external factors. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Happiness is an important feeling that enables individuals to thrive. While some people are of the opinion that this feeling can be derived and also depends largely on external factors,others believe that our happiness should be controlled solely by us. I concur with the notion that our happiness is hugely dependent on factors around us. This essay would be discussing the two sides citing relevant examples. On the one hand, the society and environment play an enormous part in our lives. Our standard of living is impacted by the amenities available to us such as good roads, electricity, fully equipped hospitals just to mention a few. If these are lacking, the possibility of being happy is really slim. For example, in 2019 when I visited Lagos state, a city in Nigeria. I became very sick and was rushed to the hospital only to be informed that some of the important equipment required for my treatment was unavailable. This really made me sad. In addition, some governments around the world are making little or no effort to ensure that the basic requirements of communities are provided. Therefore, I strongly believe that it is impossible to be happy when the things that should make life worth living such as quality health care is absent. On the other hand, it can be argued that individuals ought to be responsible for their own happiness and pleasure. In the world of today, where chaos and pain are the order of the day, people are looking within themselves to find reasons to be happy. For instance, my uncle who lives in a remote village in India never turns on the television because he said it is only filled with bad news, hence relying on external factors for ones happiness would be detrimental. In conclusion, although happiness can be described as free and should be generated from within, I strongly believe that our environment contributes immensely to our happiness.