Computers today can quickly and accurately translate languages; therefore, it is a waste of time to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Learning of non-native language is not necessary because we have electronic translators that can do it fast and correctly. This is how advanced we have come with respect to using technology to enhance our daily lives. However, I completely disagree that the acquisition of a foreign dialect is an exercise in futility, and in this essay, I will be discussing my views below. Firstly, electronic device translators still need the internet to work. Computers with language translators need to connect to a back end server via the internet, before it can function, as such the interpretation cannot be completed without access to the internet. For instance, if you are in a rural area where there is limited internet connectivity, then it means communication cannot happen. In this scenario, the essential of knowing a second language is still valid. Secondly, the laptops could get broken and the translation function won't work. These devices are electronic devices that are prone to damage, it therefore means that without the knowledge of a second language, one communication is hindered. For example, I have witnessed a situation whereby a foreigner wants to communicate, but his device will not power up, because of this he couldn't find his way around in the city. This wouldn't have been the case if he was aided with another language. Finally, acquisition of another dialect is a waste of time since there are other means of translating better and quicker, such as with computers. This essay completely disagrees with the statement, because these devices need the internet to perform their functions and they can also get damaged. As such it is necessary to know another language than only relying on gadgets for translation.