Nowadays some countries encourage people to buy more and more products, which is good for economy. While others believe it is bad for the society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is said that the officials should promote purchasing which are beneficial to its society, while criticism claims negatives are more obvious. From my perspective, positivities of spending on product overweigh its negativities First of all, individual expenditures are favourable for a country's economy. For instance, every dollar spent on local groceries made a share of the contribution to gross domestic product. With enough purchasing in goods, services, local businesses could earn enough profit and operate in a sustainable way, the economy would grow optimistically. On the other hand, with a decrease in consumption, local businesses would not have sufficient funds to support themselves and they may suffer from a shortage of cash flow or even bankruptcy. Furthermore, a financial crisis may occur when there is a severe impact on domestic businesses due to lack of consumption. Secondly, encouraging consumption could stimulate the development of innovations and relevant technologies. With financial supports from consumers, companies would have enough funds to produce more products and make improvements in quality or function by developing new technologies. By contrast, the opposite voice states that consumerism should not be encouraged, due to its negative impact on society. It is understood that overspending should not be promoted because there are still many poverty populations around the world. However, purchasing more product does not equalize overspending, money spent on products are supportive to businesses. In conclusion, I agree with the idea of promoting consumption, it is surely that spending money on unnecessities should not be encouraged, the benefits of purchasing more products and services are beneficial for society.