Mixed Schools with Boys and Girls Some feel that schools should be mixed with both girls and boys attending while others feel the genders ought to be separated. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

While certain concerned individuals feel that education is superior in single-sex schools, others value the integration of genders. In my opinion, though there are advantages related to focus from segregating the sexes, students benefit socially from mixed schools. Those who are in favor of separating the genders argue students will be more dedicated to their studies. The reasons for this are largely self-evident as many of the interactions between boys and girls after they reach puberty can be distracting. There is even strong evidence that girls -only schools engender better standardized results. A recent study of institutions in Europe indicated that students at female-only schools scored higher on average on national exams. There might be a variety of reasons for this but many have seized on gender segregation as the primary catalyst for increased concentration and thus improved overall academic achievement. However, the single study mentioned above does not discount the social value of schools featuring both genders. School is a place to develop not only academically, but socially as well. The fact that there may be uncomfortable interactions between girls and boys while they mature is not a drawback but a learning experience. Boys and girls, as they become men and women, will slowly learn how to talk with the opposite sex and find themselves in a better situation upon graduation. Without the opportunity to integrate socially with another gender there is a strong chance they will have difficulty communicating later and this may promote a lifelong habit of centering their social interactions on rigid gender groups. In conclusion, despite the positive impact on attention that separating boys and girls can have, the maturing effect of mixed classrooms is more important. There is a place for single-sex institutions but the majority should include both.