Art is considering as an important part of society as well as expression of its culture. Do you think it is important for children to be taught art ? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on art rather than other subjects?

Art has always been an integral part of our community since the civilizations emerged. It has faced the test of time and artists have been awarded a special place in our society. People will always remember the contribution of renowned artists such as Leonardo Da Vinci, Vincent Van Gogh, M.F Hussain and so on whose masterpieces are an inspiration to generations. Therefore, I think it is absolutely necessary for the younger generations to embrace their inner artist and focus on learning art with the same enthusiasm and zeal as they have while learning other subjects. Children are like water which means that just as the water retains the shape of the utensil it is poured into, our children do the same. At an age when they are still learning to fly and are exploring options to discover their rightful place in the society, an exposure to any form of art can be life changing. A subject as versatile as art allows our young ones to express their ideas, thoughts, emotions, and experiences in a whole new dimension. Art as they truly say can be ‘liberating and allows freedom of expression’. Over the years, we have seen how scientists and archeologists have studies the ancient artefacts to get a deeper functioning of the societies, their cultures, beliefs, technological advancements, and practices. Hence, it can be safely deduced that artistic influence in a community can provide significant clues to the functioning of a society. To conclude, even though the need to learn art as a subject cannot be stressed enough but an over emphasis can be detrimental to the holistic development of children. The subject should be an integral part of the curriculum and enjoy an equal standing among other subjects.