Computer games are very popular for all ages and nationalities. Parents think this has little educational value and it will be harmful for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As technology has been significantly developing, the gaming industry has grown beyond our expectations. Electronic games immediately attract a vast number of players no matter where they come from or how old they are. However, a majority of parents are worrying about this recreational activity due to the negative impacts it might bring, as well as its little value regarding education. As far as I am concerned, I completely concur with this notion, which will be described in the following essay. To begin with, playing computer games may result in several consequences in terms of health. First, children's physical health might be affected, as sitting for a long period results in visual impairment and poor posture. This causes health deterioration as well as lowers the study performance. Furthermore, electronic games are addictive, so playing them on a daily basis may lead to a sedentary lifestyle, which results in obesity, diabetes, and heart-related diseases in the long term. Besides, computer games addiction could result in psychological disorders, such as autism and dementia. On top of that, the contents of games have little value that probably benefits players. Games are designed to be as addictive as possible so that they could be widely spread and played. Therefore, game developers will not care whether the contents are appropriate for young people or not. As a result, these games might contain violent scenes or crimes, which is absolutely harmful to teenagers. If children are unable to distinguish the right things, they might imitate bad habits such as drinking alcohol and smoking. To summarize, children are vulnerable groups of people, so they should live in a healthy environment rather than an addictive one with blood and violent contents. For the sake of our future generation, I absolutely agree with parents' point of view, which is getting rid of computer games for children, at least until they are grown enough to understand how harmful these entertainment activities are.