In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Advertisements have become a vital part of businesses in modern days and they, therefore try to show their products‘ superiorities by presenting them to be new. In my opinion, showing how new a product is, could be either positive or negative from different perspectives. In my point of view, the reason that companies tend to show their product either new or different is to increase their sales. It is clear that the main goal of every company is to boost its profit. Therefore, it is obvious that increasing the shareholders' profits cannot be achieved unless the sales have risen. For example, there can be a variety of exact tools for digging a garden. Thus, the sales manager tries to present a tool that has a new substance for making the action easier. By contrast, a digging tool with no preferences compared with others might be more challenging to sell. Various methods used for marketing may have positive or adverse effects. The positive point is that people can realize a need they have not noticed before, or find it easier to have a more modern subject than their current one. However, a manipulative advertisement can lead to a negative reputation for the brand image. For instance, an individual may buy a production after a misunderstanding caused by the companies’ advertisements. The customer may wrongly think that product X is different from the one they had before, thereby being dissatisfied. In conclusion, every company needs to advertise its production wisely and effectively while avoiding being manipulative.