Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A gap year (a special time before getting a higher education) becomes more and more popular all over the world. From my point of view, this is an excellent tendency, because it gives teenagers a plethora of opportunities. Firstly, this age is the best time for travelling – young people don’t need a lot much money to have a great time. Also, they don’t have as much responsibilities as working people who must care, for instance, care about children and elderly relatives. Secondly, teenagers can use this period to start working in the field they are interested in. Often it is much better to spend a year for working at the wrong place than spend years getting a degree which is useless for you. Thirdly, students who already know their dream job can spend a year preparing for university exams and to get at a best university. A lot of people are able to improve their scores if they don’t have to go to daily school classes. Nowadays, a motivated student needs only the Internet and enough time. To sum up, the time spent away from education gives the person the chance to reflect on life and any important decisions before signing up for a lengthy and expensive period of study.