Some people get into debt by buying thing they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

There are few individuals who would compromise their budget by purchasing things they don't really require. In my opinion, the habit of buying unnecessarily items are driven by various factors. This essay will elaborate below the reasons causing this habit and the suggestive preventive- measures to minimise compulsive buying. The first reason to reinforce compulsive shopping is the easy access to shopping. Nowadays, shopping websites and shopping applications are easily available and accessible using mobile phone. Using the mobile phone, a shopper can easily link the credit card to the shopping account. For example, Shoppe and Lazada shopping sites. When these applications are installed on your mobile device, from time to time, the phone owner will receive a shopping alert on certain promotions and sales, which is highly reinforcing and enticing for an individual to check out promotional items and end up buying. Another reason is shopping provides immediate gratification. There are groups of people that enjoy shopping as it relaxes them. A study published online about retail and shopping therapy in 2019 suggested that a group of women feel the joy after visiting the shopping centres and purchasing items that catch their attention. The way to tackle this issue is through a preventive approach and providing practical tips on how to curve compulsive buying. For preventive approach, it's recommended to uninstall the shopping application on the mobile phone, and immediately unlink any credit cards on it. In this way, phone owners will not get the reminders to prompt them to check out sale bonanza and promotions. Secondly, replacing shopping therapy with another activity such as gardening. With gardening, a person can still experience an immediate - gratification effect which in turn, will give a high feeling. In conclusion, although shopping is a fun-filled activity, it should not compromise a person pocket, hence it should be done in moderation.