Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Art has been a big part of our lives, it surrounds us. So, it comes as no surprise that art subjects are included in school curriculums. Of course, people have different views about the importance of those. Some believe that they are simply a form of relaxation. Others, however, agree that arts and crafts have multiple benefits on student learning and development. I personally think that non-exam, arts-based subject plays a vital factor in children educational development and should exist in every secondary school curriculum. To begin with, activities connected to art can have a lot of benefits for pupils. First, it is generally thought that arts and crafts can stimulate your creativity and help with learning how to work in a team. For example, a student who is a member of a drama class must get along with other people of the cast so they can create a final product – a drama or a performance. The same is true for students who play in the student orchestra. They also must work together to create the best sound. Those experiences can enhance the ability of students to get along with different types of people and their personalities. This can also help them with learning how to be a part of a group. Another thing that students can learn from artistic subjects is how to express themselves properly. Art is all about exercising your imagination. Pupils in theatre classes, for example, learn how to create scripts or different theatre productions. This improves their imagination and creativity and leads to better self-expression as most of the time, students must present in front of their classmates or teachers. Creative activities such as scripting, acting, playing an instrument can help people with their confidence as well. Usually, as students start secondary schools the competition with their classmates can increase. Academic performance is important for parents and teachers. They have high expectations for students but sometimes those expectations can’t be met. In those cases, their self-esteem can drop. Here, art -based subjects can play a huge role because usually those subjects often require people to create a project. With this creation, comes the sense of responsibility and fulfilment once they finish it. Students are often proud of their projects because they know how much work they put, so, naturally their self-respect will rise. In conclusion, having art -based subjects alongside important academic subjects is not only a good idea but an essential decision for the adequate development of students. I personally believe that art subjects are important for kids and should be included in the school curriculum because they not only develop the imagination but can help with other different things- like building self-esteem and helping with self-expression.