Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the detrimental impacts on our planet, environmental preservation has become one of the most concerning problems. Many assume that politicians are responsible for such an important task, as citizens can do too little. However, in my opinion, I absolutely disagree with this notion, and the reasons will be explained in detail in the following paragraphs. To begin with, every citizen can take part in a wide range of activities to protect the entire planet, which can result in significantly positive changes. For instance, taking public transport instead of private vehicles reduces up to 32% toxic emissions, according to recent research. This contributes hugely to the cleanliness of the environment. Furthermore, minimizing the use of plastic consumption such as plastic bottles or polymer containers relies heavily on individuals rather than the government or politicians, because hardly could the Laws prohibit residents from using plastic items. Thus, it is absolutely possible for the inhabitants in society to contribute to environmental preservation, and their contributions are truly undeniable. On top of that, the preservation of the environment is what everyone on Earth has responsibility for, no matter who they are. Maintaining the cleanliness of one’s surroundings is synonymous with the protection of not only his or her health, but also that of other citizens in the society since everyone shares the same planet to live on. In other words, any disaster resulting from environmental degradation such as floods, droughts, or epidemic outbreaks, could take a toll on the entire community without anyone being able to stay safe. As a result, if people are not well aware of these consequences, their next generation might get into trouble. To summarize, I completely object to the statement that protecting our planet is only on politicians because little does each resident contribute to the preservation. Individuals can do more than that, and the mission of protecting the Earth is the mutual responsibility of every single person living on this planet.