Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? What can be done about this problem?

There are some argument about a suitable time for children to start the process of acquiring a foreign language.Some specialists believe that it is better to start from primary school compared to secondary school. On the one hand, children at early age have the sharpest minds among all students, so they can focus more and acquire the language very fast. Furthermore, if pupils are taught from primary school, they will have more time along their school time to concentrate on learning a foreign language. As a result, they will have considerable accuracy and fluency when they finish school and start their university or career. Consequently, because of their knowledge of a foreign language, they may be more successful in their higher educations or jobs in this global age. On the other hand, starting to learn a new non – native language at primary school has some drawbacks. Firstly, students at primary school do not have enough knowledge about their mother tongue, especially in grammar and structure. They need more time to be an expert native speaker. So, acquiring a new foreign language may lead to confusion between these two languages. Secondly, if some students are not going to continue their education or work for international companies, learning a foreign language from primary school until the end of secondary school can be a waste of time and energy. In Conclusion, although learning a foreign language from primary school may lead to confusion between native and foreign languages and is not necessary for all the students, acquiring a foreign language from early age has many considerable positive sides which is not deniable especially in this global age. The pace of learning as well as the length of time which is allocated to the learning process, are factors that affect considerably the quality of learning in children and consequently influence their future life.