These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved.

It is true that in this contemporary era, many individuals do not choose teaching as a profession. Some decades ago it was a respectful job, but now people are not interested in becoming an educator, mainly in higher secondary schools. In this essay, I am going to find out the reasons behind this and propose some solutions. To commence with, there are plethora of reasons why people do not prefer teaching as a profession. Low salary package is a first and foremost reason. The government and schools which offer a teaching job do not provide a good salary package to their teachers; however, other professions have attractive pay-out such as doctor, engineer etc. In the USA, for example, a five-year experience doctor gets a high salary package; on the other hand, a teacher's salary has remained the same after spending five years. Moreover, teachers often do a lot of work in this occupation such as paper checking and marking. Because of this they get exhausted and stressed, which affects their personal life also. Thus, these are some reasons for which people tend to think about entering this job. As every problem has a solution, similarly, this problem can be solved by following corrective steps. Firstly, the government raise the pay of teachers, significantly, which would attract more people into the profession. For instance, the school St.Xavier of Delhi pays an excellent salary package to their teachers, and because of this reason, the school never faces scarcity of teachers. Besides this, they can provide assistance and cut their working hours, which would help them mentally and stress free. Hence, these solutions make the job easier. To sum up, people are not choosing teaching jobs due to the reasons such as, low salary and work load given by authorities. These problems cannot be solved unless an increment in the salary of teachers by the government and reduction of work-load have not been done. In my view, the education authorities should take necessary steps to resolve this problem.