Millions of people every year move to English-speaking countris such as Australia, Britain or America, in order to study at school, college or university. Why do so many people want to study in English? Why is English such an important international language? Give reasons for your answer.

Nowadays, the number of people who choose to study abroad is on the rise. English -speaking countries are the favourite destination for millions of international students, this is due to English being universal. The American movie industry and the World Wide Network are two major reasons for its widespread around the world. To begin with, the universality of English made many scholars choose to study in Britain, Australia or America. In fact, there are more studying materials in English than in any other language. For example, the percentage of English content on the web is 26%, which is more than Chinese and Spanish together (19% and 7% respectively). Therefore, most people choose it as it gives them more opportunities to have a suitable career. All this is a result of the US movie industry. Hollywood laid the foundation of the globalisation of English. As it is well known that American cinema is leading the entertainment business. One example is Netflix, the big streaming service which is playing a big part in the spread of it. Another reason is, internet giants are mostly Americans, they contributed to making English the most widely used second language. For instance, Google, Apple and Microsoft provide their services to billions of users around the world. In conclusion, most overseas students prefer English -speaking universities and schools because English is used widely around the globe. Internet and cinema are two big factors in its universality. After this thorough analysis, it is predicted in the future that English will probably be the only language spoken in the entire world which means the disappearance of other languages.