Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school program. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Learning in school is one of the opportunities for students to learn new things, not only about academics but also non-academic courses for their skill development. Therefore, I completely agree that unpaid social service activity should be included in the compulsory part of the high school program as the student will be encouraged to help other people, especially the underprivileged community and this program can be beneficial for their future career. Firstly, unpaid social service has an equal criticality as other sciences or quantitative courses do, such as mathematics, biology, etc. If this course is required for students, they will be highly motivated to take it like this make the pupils feel grateful by helping other people, such as creating crowdfunding for repairing the public facilities in the underprivileged neighbourhood, for instance, sports facilities, mosques, learning centre, etc. This program will give a positive impact on the wider community; therefore, it is important to be included as a compulsory course. Secondly, community service will have fundamental learning for the students. If it is started in the high school program, they can learn new knowledge that can be useful for their portfolio when they are competing in the job market, even when they want to achieve a strategic role in a company. This social service could strengthen their soft skills, for instance, leadership, organization, and communication skills. Hence, the unpaid social service should be in the compulsory high school program. In conclusion, aside from the academic program, unpaid community service has a crucial role for the students in order to learn how to respect other people. By being a compulsory course in the high school programs, the student would be motivated to help other communities and understand that this program could benefit them in the future.