Establishing good relationship in the workplace is not important, as the primary goal of person is to focus on work. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is commonly argued that the primary goal of everyone is to focus on his/her job duties, while, being on good terms with colleagues is not essential. Although I agree that being productive is more important than trying to befriend at work. I think that is advantageous to have a few friends in the workplace. On the one hand, maintaining good relations with all co-workers is often hard and even counter-productive. Firstly, it is emotionally demanding to forge friendships with office colleagues. It is almost impossible to cater for every colleague’s needs and interests, be nice even with people who irritate you while work and put you in trouble. Moreover, sometimes it is wiser to eschew the niceties in the favor of productivity. For instance, if everyone tries to build good relationships with co-workers at the job, there are chances less work would be done. On the other hand, there are many certain reasons to get closer to your teammates. First of all, it will be beneficial to build warm relationships with those who surround you all the time. Many full-time employees spend their time with colleagues than they suppose to do with their families. And thus, they are usually happier than their solitary peers. Secondly, good interpersonal relations results in good teamwork. It is often believed that team members who like and respect each other tend to collaborative on projects more efficiently. In conclusion, I believe we need to find a healthy balance between being productive at work and forming a social bond. The ideal option is to find friends in the workplace, but not at the cost of our own productivity.