Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that music is a good tool for closing cultural and generational gaps. I completely disagree with this point of view because people of different ages have different life soundtracks and people from different cultures value different ideas. Different generations prefer different music. Songs released in the 1960s or 1970s resonate well with baby boomers because they portray things unique to that era, such as patriotism and true love. Millennials, on the other hand, may find those songs old-fashioned. Instead, they relate better to heartbreak hits by current pop artists, such as Taylor Swift and Miley Cyrus, since breaking up is so commonplace among them. Such different musical tastes mean that the two generations are unlikely to bond through music. In addition, people from different cultures have different values. As a result, they are likely to interpret the same song differently. For example, in the song Who Do You Love by The Chainsmokers, the lyrics contain the line ‘you are moving different when we are making love’. While those from traditional cultures may consider the lyrics too explicit and disgraceful, westerners may think the songwriter is free to express his pain in a disloyal relationship through music. This is to say, the song has the potential to make them become disrespectful of each other’s cultures. In conclusion, I do not think music can bridge cultural and age gaps because people who grow up in different eras have different musical preferences. Besides, people from different cultural backgrounds do not share the same values.