With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations. What solutions can you suggest to deal with this problem?

More and more children these days have complete access to the internet and this has raised several questions about the safety of this practice. Children who frequently use social media apps for interacting with their friends without being supervised can become victims of vicious crimes. In this essay, I will discuss some measures that parents can take to protect their children from the dangers of this practice. The most effective solution is supervised access to internet. Parents can ask their children to share their passwords with them. This does not have to be considered a privacy violation because young children should not have anything to hide from their parents. Likewise, parents can ask the children to use the internet while sitting in the drawing room where other family members can see what they are doing. Recently, we heard several incidences of teenagers committing suicide after falling prey to fraudulent online crimes. In many of these cases, the parents were either unaware of the consequences of their children ’s online activities or they simply did not pay attention. In some cases, parents are unaware of the dangers lurking online and fail to protect their children who are equally naïve. It is important for the government to sensitize them. The government, for example, can include lessons in the school curriculum about safe online practices. Both children and their parents should be made aware of the dangers of unlimited access to the internet. Children should be taught not to blindly trust people they find online. In conclusion, unsupervised access to the internet is harmful for children who cannot distinguish right from wrong. The only solution is to supervise their access to the internet.