Some people think that main factors influencing a child's development these days are things such as television, friends and music. Others believe that family still remains more important.

While parents obviously play a major role in the way that children develop as they get older. Many people believe that there are social factors outside of the family that influence their offspring much more. This essay will examine both sides of the argument. It is no doubt that there are factors external of the family that significantly impact a child's development, for example, there is the television and the internet. offspring these days have often access these easier much more than they used to in the past. Friends also have an important influence as they often copy peers whom they are admired and respect. This could be positive but it could also be negative, such as smoking or taking drugs. Ultimately, however, it is the family who is the most important as scion spend nearly all of their time with their parents. They develop confidence, socialization skills, morals, values and views on life through interaction with their parents. Proof of the importance of this can be seen in the differences between some heir. Those that grow up in a dysfunctional home often have problems themselves, whilst those who are brought up in a warm and close environment end up more confident and secure in adult life. To conclude, it is the family that can provide a supportive, secure and nurturing environment, which is crucial to the way in which a child becomes an adult. Although it is clear that social factors play a part. I would argue that it is the former is the most important.