Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Working prolonged hours, and having less time for leisure activities is a preferable choice for many people. In my opinion, this approach is disadvantageous as it could lead to imbalanced lifestyle. Firstly, working to earn livelihood is an essential requirement. However, investing most part of the day in it could lead to health issues. For instance, in IT industry, statistics shows for exponential career growth, people invest more time in office. Indeed, this leads to health issues like backpain, headache, stress, high blood pressure. Therefore, it is evident for long term sustainability such idealogy should be prevented. Secondly, recent case studies show working 40 hrs per week with frequent breaks fosters to boost one's productivity. Employees who spend time on liesure activities like sports, reading, travelling etc aids to boost their energy and concentration levels at workplace. To exemplify this, there are many countries in the world who have adopted to work for 4 days a week and giving three days off. As a result, teams were able to achieve numerous project deadlines keeping work quality intact. Thirdly, it is rightly said human beings are social animals. Socializing with family and friends is an integral part of our lives. However, if one would be overly engaged in work it would lead to weak relationsip in house as well as society. To wrap up, research shows that 8-8-8 rule is beneficial. This rule states one should devote 8 hours for work, 8 hours for daily routine activites which includes liesure activities and another 8 hours for sleeping. As a matter of fact, it is equally important for one to be passionate for work but being workoholic should not be the goal in life. Therefore, working for long hours and leaving little time for leisure activities has plenty of cons.