The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in the towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a discernible fact that online shopping has become the most preferred means for consumers to buy products. It is gradually transitioning from being a trend to becoming the norm for many households. Thus, in regards to whether this phenomenon will lead to physical stores becoming obsolete, I agree entirely with this view and will justify the same in the following paragraphs. First of all, it is essential to point out the key difference which has been pivoted in the success of online stores. It is the ability to render just about every aspect of the shopping experience from a physical store but at the comfort of a person's home and the convenience of a few links or touches. Since such a degree of simplicity cannot be emulated offline, the public is naturally more inclined towards online shops. Secondly, the availability of nearly every commodity and service and more additions by the second has tipped the scales in favour of online shopping. Furthermore, there are various overheads involved when a retailer is operating a physical store, such as rent, power, maintenance etc., which are absent in the case of online stores. As a result, more often than not, retail stores suffer losses annually. Accordingly, the revenue generated and thereby profit earned also varies vastly between the two. Therefore, many businesses nowadays are also seeking avenues to shift towards e-commerce. Although, there are exceptions and a segment of offline and online purchasers will always prefer the entire experience of visiting a store and purchasing a product leading to a few operational shops. Nevertheless, observing the uniform rise in the number of online shoppers during the pandemic or emergency times, it can be easily deduced which is and will be the dominant form of commerce. In conclusion, I would like to say that, people will always prefer the more effortless option if presented with choices and the same has been seen with shopping. Hence, in my opinion, the arrival of an era where online shopping is the only choice left is inevitable.