Many jobs require ongoing training and research to stay competitive in a world with rapidly evolving information and technology. Some believe that it is the responsibility of businesses to pay for this training for their staff while others feel it is up to the individual. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Modern society has been developing incredibly fast nowadays especially in technology and information, which necessitates a lot of organisations to keep up to date latest available resources. There is a contentious argument whether the training for continuous learning to be competitive should be paid for by companies or individuals. In my opinion, employers are accountable for their employees' personal development. It is indeed true that there are some benefits of paying the fees for self-development. The main reason for this is a motivational advantage as people usually do not want to waste their money and therefore, they tend to exclusively pay for what they really need contrary to the situation where someone else pays for them. Thus, when employees pay for their training themselves, they would be more motivated and more likely to maximise their learnings so that the training pays off later. On the other hand, training fees being paid by companies also have numerous positive aspects. First of all, this encourages more employees to take part in new learning regardless of their motivation and interest. This is particularly crucial for leaders to have their employers learn up-to-date skills and knowledge in order to keep the quality of the products or services that companies provide. Furthermore, research is also not what we can disregard because the information that we believe is right might be found to be harmful in a few years. This fact reinforces the importance of research and obtaining the latest information and thus, companies should be responsible for providing appropriate training and research opportunities. in summary, although both training fees paid by companies and individuals have some pros, companies should be the main body for the fees.