Smoking is a habit that claims many lives and is a great drain on health services. One way to combat smoking would be to make it illegal. What are the pros and cons of of such government policy? What alternative strategies can you suggest to combat smoking?

Smoking of different substances has become a trend and this habit has claimed the lives of many individuals. Many people who have well-being complications today can be as a result of inhaling these smokes, it has become a habit for some as they do not seem to feel complete if they have not had it. Some individuals believe that the best way to stop the increased use of this is to make it illegal. This essay will discuss the positive and negative accept of this policy and also suggest another strategy that the government can introduce to fight smoking problems. One good aspect of making smoking these substances illegal is that it stops the sales of these products as people will no longer get to purchase them. For instance, if the public is aware that this merchant is prohibited by the law and is punishable with a jail sentence, the retailers will stop purchasing them and the public will try to stay away from it so as not to get into trouble and from there they might be on their road to self-rehabilitation. In fact, having no access to these health debilitating substances will help improve the lives of most individuals. While on the other hand, abruptly imposing this policy on smokers will significantly have a negative consequence on their well-being as some will go into withdrawal syndrome. For example, a marijuana smoker who has been smoking this item for a long period and suddenly has no access to it might become aggressive and will become a threat to the community and those around him. Therefore, it would be strategic to put certain points in place before banning it. In conclusion, while fighting the increasing use of this health destructive substances, another strategy the government can adopt is to constantly educate the masses on the adverse effect that smoking generally has on their health and how it can destroy their lungs in the long run.