Many parts of the world are losing important natural resources, such as forests, animals, or clean water. Choose one resource that is disappearing and explain why it needs to be saved. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Recently, studies have shown how our freshwater has been rapidly depleted over the last century, and organizations such as the “World Health Organization” foresees a significant threat to humanity by 2050. Hence, drinkable water has become one of the most precious natural resources, and consequently, it is essential to understand how limited freshwater is and the importance of being aware of our actions in the coming future. The surface of our planet is composed of 70% water. However, only 2.5% is useful for human consumption. As our population keeps growing, the demand for the small percentage is driven by Energy Production, Food Production, and Agriculture. In fact, these industries will need to increase their productivity to meet society’s needs, and the forecast is, there will not be enough fresh water available by 2040. The latest research by Nasa confirmed the prediction saying that most of the water sources are being drained due to overconsumption. Nevertheless, a few developed countries have implemented a wastewater recycling system, which might be a short-time solution. An obvious example is the Los Angeles area, where the plan was a success. Water from toilets, sinks, and factories was returned to households as sterilized drinking water. In conclusion, despite the excellent result of the recycling project, the mechanism requires a vast amount of energy, which leads us back to the starting point. Freshwater should be consumed consciously, and our lifestyle behavior needs to be changed in order to have sustainable living.