As global trade increases, many goods including those we use on daily basis are produced in another country and have to be transported long distances . Do benefits of this trend outweigh disadvantages.

Due to the increase in international markets, many essential commodities such as the ones used on daily basis are produced and transported from long locations. In my opinion, this reality has more merits than its demerits, with the benefit being availability and affordability of items while the possible drawback is the increase in global warming. One of the major advantages of producing and transporting from long distances is the availability of foreign products in the country. What this means is that people will have access to other countries items such as fruits growing in another nation will be readily available as a result of moving to another state. for instance, people in Nigeria have opportunities to eat an apple that grows in Dubai because of transportation. Another benefit of moving products produced from another country is that it makes those items to be affordable. What this implies is that due to the availability of the same goods from different parts of the world in the market, most sellers would compete with one another which would eventually make the products to be cheap for consumption. In Nigeria, for instance, many studies have shown that a high percentage of seller sells at low prices when it is available of same goods in the market. However, it also has its drawback, which is the increase in global warming. In other words, producing and frequent moving of goods from one country to another will cause environmental pollution because the most common means of transportation are airlines which emit carbon dioxide into the environment, which is the major cause of global warming. Many studies have shown that the movement of goods is the main cause of environmental hazards, which are resulted from transporting internationally. In conclusion, while affordability and accessibility are the main benefits of producing and transporting through a long distance, the problem of an increase in global warming cannot be ignored.