Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development

Politicians, large organizations, and business people have been striving to promote their products and their purposes to the society in recent years. This phenomenon appears to be global and I believe it has detrimental effects on the population. There are innumerable drawbacks of advertising to the community. Firstly, it distracts the observers’ concentration and affects their productivity while working. For example, a student, who is using the internet to collect relevant information, would certainly be distracted by some fascinating ads, or annoying pop-ups which are designed to draw their attention. This is not to mention that such long commercial advertisements can swallow up an intense amount of their time. Secondly, the advertiser can influence people ’s thinking through their publications. The political propagandas set a good example for this; these tend to provide only some parts of the truths, with the aim to control the perceiver’s feelings and their opinions about the particular issue, or may be subjective. Thus trigger rallies and cause social unrest among the community. Finally, the new methods of advertising are causing negative impacts on young people, especially adolescents and children. With the support of technology, advertisers can now promote their product to the exact people who will be interested. Teenagers and children, however, are those who spend a large amount of time on these websites. They are still mentally weak, and may not be able to prevent themselves from drifting to these ads, which might be pornographies or toxic information. I do appreciate the fact that many advertisements present good products, deliver a meaningful message, or provide people with relevant knowledge. But I believe these pieces of information can be found on other patterns, which would not affect their time and concentration. In conclusion, I personally think that the rapid development of advertising, although brings some particular benefits to people, is still a negative trend due to the numerous impacts it has on the population.