Some people say that subjects like arts, music, drama and creative writing are more beneficial to children and therefore they need more of these subjects to be included in the timetable. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that students must be taught more lessons like arts, music, drama and creative writing in their official timetable. While I accept that these subjects have multiple benefits, I believe that only the inborn talents should spend more time on them. On the one hand, creative subjects are very beneficial to students. One reason is that these lessons not only nurture a love of art in children but also make them more emotional, which is believed to bring individuals a bright future. In fact, some scientists say that people with a high emotional quotient have a tendency to be more successful in their career. Furthermore, music, painting, drama, etc are kinds of pleasing recreation. They effectively help learners to relieve stress and pressure from academic subjects. On the other hand, there are a variety of reasons why we should not set aside more hours to teach arts. Firstly, scheduled lessons have already enhanced both creative ability and academic ability. Therefore, there is no need to break the balance by adding more arts education. Secondly, because not all students are supposed to be artists, they must be given the right to choose what they are interested in. For example, it is a waste of time to ask the deaf-tone to have more music lessons if they are keen on biology and math so as to become a doctor while people have a flair for art can get more professional training from dedicated institutions after school. In conclusion, it is certainly true that arts education is very beneficial to all students, but I believe that there is no need to change the school curriculum by adding more creative subjects.