Some people believe that children leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

Some people believe that children's leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience. • You should write at least 250 words. • You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. The most common belief among parents nowaday is that children's leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Opposed to that normally accepted point of view, I have to disagree. In my opinion, leisure activities should be enjoyable, rather than serious and dull. First of all, children should have time for themselves but not for anyone else. It is a basic demand of a human being to be pleased with whatever they do as long as it is still acceptable on a level. For instance, playing video games. Many parents do not like their kids to interact with that “unreal world”. Yes, there are definitely some certain drawbacks of playing video games like overplaying it or getting abuse to it; but above that, let’s take a look at the bright side. Beside some violent, horror, obsessive and unhealthy games, there are plenty more games that contain educational materials in which children can learn new knowledge in a more exciting but indirect way. Secondly, sometimes leisure activities are not only hobbies but they are the reflection of the children ’s own personalities. From my observation upon the environment I live in, I have seen many children with different favourite leisure activities. Some like football, some like drawing and some like cooking,... There is a huge variety and so is the difference; therefore, it is mostly inaccurate to assume that all these activities have the educational purpose on them. But this is not about liking something, these activities are more than that, they can define children ’s dreams. A game programmer would only want to become a programmer when they love games, and so the footballers, artists, chefs and many more. In conclusion, I think that fathers and mothers should not be too harsh on their children by imposing their opinion about doing leisure activities; instead, let them freely have their pick of what they want to do because none of those is a waste of time, whether they are educational or not.