Write about the following topic: People nowadays prefer to interact online (e.g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than talking to other people face-to-face. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Social scientists say that nowadays people are spending more time interacting online rather than talking in person. In my perspective, there are many factors causing these changes such as the advancement of our technologies and also social values, which I think it considers as a positive change. The technologies have been growing rapidly for a couple of years now, and it is unlocked the ability to communicate with friends and do e-commerce more easily. For example, according to Queen's University's survey, the authors found that there is a majority of students, teachers, and parents prefer to do shopping online than going to a market because of the lower time of shipping duration. Moreover, mobile phones have a significant role on social media, over 92% of the survey takers use social media more than talking face to face. This is because social media can share pictures with a high resolution and have interesting features to play with. In addition, social values will influence teenagers and working-age people to change their routines. For example, most people do not want to miss any viral news or memes on the internet in order to chat with their friends. This happens a lot in high school students because most of the time they are online and sending news to their group chats. In conclusion, this emerging of online platforms has more benefits than disadvantages. It allows us to communicate as a group or independent by one click and regardless of places and times. Moreover, it makes countries' economy to flow efficiently by online shopping.