Traffic congestion is becoming increasingly problematic in major cities. What solutions can you suggest to help solve the problems?

These days it is observed that the number of problems due to traffic congestion is increasing in a lot of cities. There are several measures which can be taken to bring this under control. The first Solution to limit problems caused by traffic congestion is running some traffic zones in congested areas in cities. It will result in decreasing a sizable number of cars being in the streets. For instance, in our city, Tehran, there is a traffic zone in which private cars are not allowed to travel during rush hours. Thus, it has helped control the traffic jam in these hours. It is worth mentioning that city planners play a vital role in persuading people to respect these rules. They have to enforce strict regulations, and impose hefty fines in order to limit the number of cars commuting in these regions. Moreover, the second solution is improving public transportation in major cities. Nowadays, it is infrequent and unreliable in most cities. Therefore, people prefer to use their own cars instead of spending too much time on waiting for buses or train, especially when it takes ages to reach the destination in megacities. If transport officials and governments boost public transportation infrastructures, and raise public awareness about the consequences of using public transportation which has been extremely sufficient and reliable, people will be encouraged incredibly to commute with it on a regular basis. In conclusion, to reiterate, if mentioned solutions included using running traffic zones and improving public transportation put into practice, the number of problems related to traffic will be reduced in major cities.