As global trade increase many goods including those we use on daily basis are produced in other countries and have to transported long distance. Do benefits of this trend outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays, due to the rising number of consumers, investments in international trading have increased. As a result, a significant portion of people’s daily needs is imported from other countries. Although there are some benefits associated with global trading, I believe the main drawbacks are substantial. On the one hand, a potential advantage may be balancing demand and supply in populated countries. Since local businesses are not able to supply the whole population demanding such as crops, cloths and even technological devices in many countries, the variety of these goods should be imported from overseas. Furthermore, another perceived benefit is that transporting from other countries causes diversity in the products of the city markets. For example, if a country does not access sea and fishing, It could transport kinds of seafood -which are crucial for people’s daily diet- from other countries. On the other hand, a substantial drawback of international trading is that it can pose a threat to local and small businesses. Indeed, these businesses suddenly face foreign rivals that have an array of advantages such as substantial financial resources, advanced technologies, powerful brands, and marketing systems. Consequently, if the government does not subsidize them, they might be unable to overcome this situation and ultimately eliminate it from markets. Additionally, from an economic point of view, a considerable amount of the product’s final price is due to the cost of transporting them to the country and high taxation. As a result, people have to pay more for rages of product. To conclude, It is true that international trading would seem advantageous under certain circumstances. However, in my view, its adverse effects on local markets and the high prices of imported products override the advantages.