Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is argued that the best method to tackle the problem of increasing the rate of traffic jams and pollution is adjusting the price of petrol. I strongly agree with this statement although there might be other metrics to overcome these problems that will be elaborated on in the following paragraphs. Air pollution and gridlocks are two main problems that are related to the low cost of petrol in the vast majority of countries. In my opinion, this is the most constructive policy that decision-makers can make. To begin with, it is highly likely to derive commuters to utilize public transport and other environmentally-friendly means of transportation like bicycles. It may bring about reducing the use of private cars that leads to reduce air pollution and gridlocks. In addition, when petrol price goes up, taxi fairs soar that are bound to cause a significant fall in the rate of passengers who have used taxies as the main means of transportation, just due in no small part to its cheap fairs. For example, third world countries that are a rich source of fuel fossils, like Iran, are imposing severe pressure on the private taxi sector to increase the rate of fares. On the other hand, other methods of tackling these problems are by no means negligible. Firstly, pricing policies might be imposed on using private vehicles. To illustrate more, pricing will be a proper scenario to reduce vehicles in crowded spots of cities and as a result, traffic jams will be disappeared. Secondly, importing electrical automobiles or developing infrastructures to produce more electric cars during each year might be another alternative. These vehicles are more likely to dramatically sink the releasing amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. Similarly, t can result in reducing air pollution by using renewable energies. For instance, ‘Tesla’ company is a real pioneer in protecting our environment by using electrical powerful engines in lieu of diseal ones. In conclusion, It is true that adjusting petrol cost will be the main reason for having high-quality air condition and streets with low traffic volumes.