Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

In countries around the world today, air pollution and growing traffic have become a course for concern. While suggestions are frequently being made to tackle them,some people believe that a major way of solving these issues is to raise the cost of petrol and I strongly concur. This essay would be discussing why I support this notion in addition to offering other effective solutions. The number of people owning cars has dramatically increased over the last decade. This inevitably has resulted in huge traffic and air pollution. Most automobiles produced nowadays are powered by petrol, hence increasing its cost would serve as a deterrent to the use of cars because not everyone would be able to afford and maintain a car, thus resulting in a decline in the growing traffic and air pollution. For example, a lot of individuals live below the minimum wage already,so I believe that an increase in petrol price will only add to their already high monthly expenses causing them to abandon private cars and opt to use public transport such as tubes and trains which are more environmental-friendly. Another effective way of ensuring the reduction in air pollution and the growing traffic is by equipping and remodelling the alternative means of transportation such as trains and tubes. In the first place, the main reason why people are increasingly purchasing private cars is that the public transport system is in a terrible state. For instance, some of them do not have functioning toilets and are unkept which led people into buying their own vehicles. If these other means of transportation can be modernized and fully equipped there would be a tremendous rise in the number of individuals who use them and as a result a fall in road congestion. In conclusion, the increase in road congestion and air pollution is greatly affecting our lives negatively and I strongly agree that measures such as increasing the price of fuel and improving our trains and tubes are ways of solving these problems.