Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what ef ects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

In many countries, illiteracy is one of the less-discussed problems, but unfortunately, it has affected society. There seem to be two leading causes and a number of effects, which we will discuss here. Possibly the main cause of illiteracy is because of families. In a family whose parents have a low level of education, They can not effectively help the children's development at any stage and make progress. So, the youngesters who spend most of their time with their family can not learn much from them, and these adults can not support their children perfectly. Provided that parents did not attend to academic levels, they would not be decent role models for their children. They would not give them the aspiration to continue their educational levels. A further well-known cause could be financial issues. In a society with high poverty, it is difficult to earn money, and people in difficult situations prefer to meet their basic needs. Despite the high illiteracy rate in this community, people tend to spend the money they earn on their food. For this reason, illiteracy is increasing day by day. In fact, people should not worry about financial problems, and it is the responsibility of society to meet the needs of its people. The effect of this problem on people and society can be quite serious. Firstly, Cultural poverty arises. People are divided into two groups: Illiterate and literate. These two groups have nothing in common and can not understand each other in any field. A further widely-observed impact is an unemployment. If you have a little education, You will have problems in the future, and it will be challenging to find a job and earn money. It also affects personal life and communicating with others and causes a lack of self-confidence. Overall, family and financial circumstances seem to be the main reasons for affecting community and people. However, it should be mentioned that joblessness and poor self-esteem could be increased by illiteracy.